A New (old) Project

I had been wondering what new project to start for my Monday night studio time and had been thinking about making a new mask when this turned up at JibJab!

020413_Truman_01

It’s a mask of Harry Truman that I started one weekend about 8 years ago when my wife was out of town.  I know how old it is because I remember the apartment we were in when I started it (and it was definitely before any kids were in the picture).  This was going to be a follow up to a giant Teddy Roosevelt head I made in 1996.  I thought it had gone missing ages ago but last weekend we did a massive cleaning at work and on Wednesday I found it sitting in the corner of the loft.    Hooray for me!

The duct tape was all dried out and cracking but it has mostly held it’s form so tonight I decided to lay down some good old fashion paper mache.  My hands got completely covered in Elmer’s Glue pretty quickly so Adrienne came back and took a few pictures for the ole blog…

2013-02-04_truman_01

2013-02-04_truman_04

2013-02-04_truman_02

It was really fun getting dirty again but I was bummed I had to let it dry before I could keep adding to it.   I fabricated some ears out of cardboard and duct tape which I’ll add later.  I think the forehead is about 1/4 too high so I might hack that down.  I would also like to try and sculpt out some fine features before I make some giant glasses and paint him up.

I just love Harry Truman’s no B.S. approach to everything.

2013-02-04_truman_03

Leave a Reply

