Coming Along…

Last night was another night of chipping away at this thing. My dimmers arrived and I was so excited to apply one but I had no idea what I was doing. When I tried to solder together 2 AAs and a 9 Volt battery they started sizzling and emitting this goopy, metallic substance so I stopped until I have time to read the directions. Here’s some of the scientific craziness that I need to learn..

I decided to move back to the box. First thing I did was measure, cut and insert a rim to the inside lip. This will give something for the floor boards to rest on…

Then I started measuring out the planks. At first I thought I would do this in 3 pieces but after I plopped these two down I realized that I could trim it back to 2 by just carving notches in the wider piece for the rubberbands to run through…

Next I shifted my attention to the pedals and legs. I bought these little couplings last time I was at the hobby store because one of the pedals was too short so I soldered them on first…

After that I had to make a creative design about what kind of footwear this bear would choose. Originally I thought it would be funny if this fancy bear was just wearing plain old sweat socks. Ya know, the kind with the red stripes at the top? But my wife thought he was WAY too classy for that and I happened to agree. Wherever I landed I knew he needed small feet because tiny feet on something so bulky and lumbering is just funny. After digging around my fabric piles I felt gold boots were fitting…

Once the boots were sewn on I attached a metal bar to the heel that would slide over the coupling so the feet could rotate as the pedals turn.

My last step for the night was to attach the hat (painted earlier in the evening) and the ears. I only got one boot done but the other can wait until next time…

And here he is in turnaround…

Leave a Reply

